Climate Scientists, Marijuana Decriminalisation Advisor, Cocoa Centre Among Vice-Chancellor’s Award Winners

The University of the West Indies celebrates outstanding service at The UWI Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence 2017/2018, which recognises service both within and outside of the university. This year, The UWI will award eight recipients for work in areas including education, research, public service and collaboration. The prestigious Awards date back to more than 20 years of tradition at The UWI. Rotated annually, this year’s ceremony will be held on Monday, October 29, 2018 at the Mona Campus’ Visitors’ Lodge and Conference Centre in Jamaica. The 2017/2018 awardees are:

  • Teaching:  Dr. Helen Trotman-Edwards, Department of Child and Adolescent Health, Mona Campus
  • Research: Dr. Srinivasa Popuri, Department of Biological and Chemical Sciences, Cave Hill Campus
  • Research: Professor John Ayotunde (Tunde) Isola Bewaji, Department of Language, Linguistics and Philosophy, Mona Campus
  • Public Service: Professor Wendel Abel, Department of Community Health and Psychiatry, Mona Campus
  • Service to the University Community and Public Service: Professor Ian Boxill, Centre for Tourism and Policy Research, Mona Campus
  • International Collaboration: Globalisation Award:  Regional Climate Science Initiative (RCSI) Project, Climate Studies Group, Department of Physics, Mona Campus
  • International Collaboration – Globalisation Award: International Fine Cocoa Innovation Centre (IFCIC) Project, Cocoa Research Centre, St. Augustine Campus
  • Multi-Campus Research Collaboration – One UWI Award: Global to Local Caribbean Socio-Economic Climate Change (Adaptation and Mitigation Scenarios) (GoLoCarSce) Project, Department of Life Sciences, St. Augustine Campus